Date of release: Wednesday, July 20, 2016

VC Recognition Awards - 19 July 2016Four outstanding individuals have been named as the winners of the University of Greenwich's Recognition Awards.

In a ceremony last night (Tuesday 19 July), prizes were presented by the university's Vice-Chancellor, Professor David Maguire, to the staff member, student and alumnus of the year. The overall winner of the new Excellence in Education award was also announced.

Now in their fifth year, the awards recognise the outstanding contributions made by many, not just to the university but to society as a whole.

Dr Robert Jenner, a Principal Lecturer in the Faculty of Engineering & Science, is Staff Member of the Year. He was praised for his ability to bring out the best in his students through the encouragement and support he gives at every step through university life. Dr Jenner was also recognised for his professionalism, problem solving, networking skills and for upholding the university's core values through all his work, from undergraduate and postgraduate teaching to research.

Tue Anh Nguyen was named as Student of the Year, rewarding her commitment to ensuring an excellent learning experience for her fellow students. A PhD Business student, she has also worked to develop outstanding external networks for her faculty. Tue Anh has arranged for several high-profile speakers to attend Greenwich, from institutions including the University of Cambridge and SOAS, which has opened up further opportunities for collaboration and networking.

Shabina Begum, a graduate from the university's School of Law in 2008, becomes Alumnus of the Year. Shabina is honoured for her work as a family lawyer and human rights activist, and for campaigning to eradicate domestic violence and acid attacks. Still aged under 30, she has spoken at a United Nations commission and been recognised as one of the "top 100 influential British Bangladeshis".

This year's ceremony included a new category, the Excellence in Education award, competed for across the university. Three winners had previously been picked per faculty for categories including Most Innovative Teacher, Outstanding Contribution to Student Experience, and Outstanding Contribution to Employability. After a hard-fought contest, the overall winner was Dr Kyle Ingram, from the Business School, who had won his faculty's Most Innovative Teacher category.

"We had a very impressive shortlist, made up of some truly outstanding individuals, so choosing the winners has once again been a difficult task," Professor Maguire said. "All of our nominees tell you something about the work that the university does, and the difference that we can all make. It is a great privilege to lead this talented, diverse and energetic community that we have here at Greenwich."

The awards were presented at the Chancellor's Dinner, which was attended by guests from the worlds of industry, commerce, education, finance and public service. Winners were each presented with a trophy designed by a Greenwich student.

Dr David Evans, Senior Lecturer in Sexual Health, with the Faculty of Education & Health, and Caroline Troy, Project Controller and Publicity Development Manager for the Natural Resources Institute, were both nominated for Staff Member of the Year.

Dr Evans has demonstrated a great ability to encourage his students to think reflectively and critically, skills which have proved invaluable when entering the workplace. Caroline has shown outstanding dedication and focus, undertaking tasks with precision, speed and excellence, while embracing new responsibilities and helping others.

Shortlisted nominees for Student of the Year included Alvappillai Velventhan, a Civil Engineering Master's student, who has demonstrated impressive teaching and teamwork skills. Meike Imberg, a second year Sociology and Psychology student, was recognised for her dedication in driving forward and promoting the university's equality, diversity and inclusion strategy.

The other nominees for Alumnus of the Year were Rebecca Donnelly MBE, who has helped thousands of marginalised young people turn their lives round through her charity Fight 4 Change; and Guy Penwill, for his achievement in winning two successive Oscars as part of the visual effects team behind the films Ex Machina and Interstellar.

Alison Cork (Faculty of Education & Health) and Dr Craig Morris (Faculty of Architecture, Computing & Humanities) made the final three for the Excellence in Education awards. They had previously won the overall awards for Outstanding Contribution to Student Experience, and Outstanding Contribution to Employability, respectively.

Story by Public Relations

Picture: Vice-Chancellor Professor David Maguire with Tue Anh Nguyen, named as Student of the Year.