A change of name for the Faculty of Architecture, Computing and Humanities (FACH)


Their new name is the Faculty of Liberal Arts and Sciences (FLAS) and you will start to see this name as we make the necessary arrangements to move to the new name.

Within the Faculty of Liberal Arts and Sciences there are four schools:

  • School of Computing & Mathematical Sciences
  • School of Law & Criminology
  • School of Design 
  • School of Humanities & Social Sciences.

Professor Mark O'Thomas, Pro-Vice Chancellor said:

Our faculty has so many different areas of study – from the application of numerical modelling to the investigation of 19th-century British periodicals and more – and changing our name, and creating four new schools reflects more accurately our commitment to its diversity.