International Tourism Studies Association (ITSA) Biennial Conference

Paper submissions

For paper presentations please submit abstracts of not more than 500 words or not more than three pages. Abstracts must have a title centered at the top and include an introduction, methods, findings, implications or conclusions, and a reference list (the reference list is not included in the word count).

Abstracts of proposals should be sent to Dr. Samantha Chaperon, Chair of the Scientific Committee at
Abstracts of all accepted papers will be included in the conference materials and selected full papers will be published in the peer-reviewed conference proceedings, following the event.

Special session topics

ITSA invites proposals for special paper and presentations sessions to be held during the conference.  These sessions should contain at least three presentations.  Proposals for special sessions should be emailed to the Chair of the Scientific Committee, Dr Samantha Chaperon at

Special sessions confirmed so far:

  • Dark Tourism and Cities – details coming soon
  • Tourism and Communist Heritage – details coming soon

Emerging young scholars event

This special session of the 2016 ITSA conference will bring together young scholars from emerging and developed countries to discuss the challenges and opportunities facing young tourism academics.

The session will be chaired by Professor Phillip Pearce, President of ITSA, James Cook University, Australia.

More details to be published soon.

Best paper awards

Awards will be given during the conference, in the following categories:

  • Best overall paper
  • Best paper in each of the conference sub themes
  • Best paper written jointly by scholars from emerging and developed countries
  • Best paper by a young scholar
  • Best poster

Publication opportunities

There will be a number of publication opportunities associated with the conference, and these will be explained on this website soon.

Papers of up to 8,000, that have been presented at the conference, will be considered for publication in the International Journal of Tourism Cities, published by Emerald and ITSA.

Scientific Committee

  • Chair: Dr Samantha Chaperon, University of Greenwich, UK
  • Dr Nipon Chuamuangphan, Nakhon Pathom Rajabhat University, Thailand
  • Dr Rob Davidson, MICE Knowledge, UK
  • Dr Katia Iankova, University of Greenwich, UK
  • Dr Catherine Kelly, University of Greenwich, UK
  • Dr Jithendran Kokkranikal, University of Greenwich, UK
  • Dr Ewa Krolikowska, University of Greenwich, UK
  • Dr Sven Kuenzel, University of Greenwich, UK
  • Dr Mimi Li, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong SAR, Peoples Republic of China
  • Dr Nikki Macleod, University of Greenwich, UK
  • Dr David Newsome, Murdocuh University, Ausitralia
  • Professor Han Shen, Fudan University, Peoples Republic of China
  • Dr Nion Srisomyong, University of the Thai Chamber of Commerce, Thailand
  • Dr Jose-Andres Coca-Stefaniak, University of Greenwich, UK
  • Dr Miroslav Vujicic, University of Novi Sad, Serbia
  • Dr Claire Liu, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand