Choir

Choir

University Choir

The University of Greenwich Choir is an 70-strong chorus made up of students, staff, alumni and friends of the University of Greenwich. The choir rehearses on Monday evenings during term-time on the Greenwich campus, and gives public performances throughout the year including at the University Carol Services and in large choral-orchestral concerts, as well as less formal settings.

The choir sings a wide variety of music including classical, folk, pop, jazz and musical theatre. There is no charge to join, and there are no formal auditions. We welcome those of all standards to our friendly and ambitious choir!

For more information, please email choir@greenwich.ac.uk

Upcoming Performances

Autumn concert TBC

University Carol Service

Tuesday 28th November, 6pm and 8pm.

Old Royal Naval College Chapel

College Row,

Greenwich

SE10 9LW

Rehearsal Dates

Rehearsals take place on Monday evenings from 6.30-8.30pm in the Queen Anne building, Greenwich Campus.

Monday 25th September, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 2nd October, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 9th October, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 16th October, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 23rd October, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 30th October, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 6th November, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 13th November, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 20th November, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 27th November, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 15th January, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 22nd January, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 29th January, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 5th February, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 12th February, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 19th February, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 26th February, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 4th March, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 11th March, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 18th March BANK HOLIDAY. More information to come, rehearsal may be rescheduled to Wednesday 20th March.

SPRING CONCERT – weekend of 22nd - 24th March. SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

Monday 22nd April, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 29th April, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 6th April BANK HOLIDAY. More information to come, rehearsal may be rescheduled to Wednesday 8th May.

Monday 13th May, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 20th May, 6:30-8:30pm

Monday 27th May BANK HOLIDAY. More information to come, rehearsal may be rescheduled to Wednesday 29th May. Monday 3rd June, 6:30-8:30pm SUMMER CONCERT - weekend of 7th - 9th June. SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

Music Team

Music Director: Olivia Shotton

Olivia is the Choir Director at the University of Greenwich, conducting the University Choir and overseeing the University's Choral Exhibition programme. Olivia completed her MA in Choral Conducting from the Royal Academy of Music with distinction, receiving both a DipRam award for outstanding performance in her final recital and the Sir Thomas Armstrong Choral Leadership Prize. After her postgraduate studies, Olivia remained at the Academy as the 2021-2022 Meaker Fellow, conducting a series of concerts of renaissance and baroque music by women from the Italian convents under the name The CONVENTional Project. During her fellowship, she was the Assistant Chorus Master, working alongside Simon Halsey in preparing the Academy Chorus for a performance of Mahler Symphony no. 3 conducted by Semyon Bychkov at the Royal Festival Hall. Alongside the University of Greenwich Choir, Olivia is currently the Conductor of the University of London Chamber Choir, London Youth Choir West and was the 2022-23 Genesis Sixteen Conducting Scholar.

Guest Accompanist: Benjamin Newlove

David Fussey Choral Exhibition

Applications are now OPEN for the 2023/24 David Fussey Choral Exhibition!

The David Fussey Choral Exhibition is a bursary worth £1,000 awarded in memory of Dr David Fussey, the late Vice-Chancellor of the University of Greenwich, who greatly enjoyed choral music. Up to five students are awarded a bursary each year and recipients are expected to take a leading role in the management of the University Choir, including organising events, maintaining the choir mailing list, organising stewards for concerts and setting equipment up for rehearsals. Applicants are expected to be strong singers and good team players. Please visit the Bursaries pages of the university website, or email choir@greenwich.ac.uk with any queries.

Applications must be submitted TUESDAY 3rd OCTOBER at 11:59pm. The application form can be downloaded here. Auditions will be held on the evening of Monday 9th October, and will involve performing a piece of your choice, a selection of musicianship and vocal exercises with the Musical Director, Olivia Shotton, and a short conversation about your musical experience and why you would like to be considered for a Choral Exhibition.