Skip navigation

Academic Council Academic Council

Academic Council meets six times each year and relies on strong participation of members to ensure effective conduct of business. Five university wide committees and four Faculty Boards report to Council which oversees their work through summary reports, monitoring their minutes and through items referred by the committees for consideration.

Some areas of authority are delegated to Council by the University Court and Council's Executive Secretary provides a regular written brief to Court on items of academic significance raised at Council.


Within the general policy of the University and subject to the ultimate responsibility of the Court and to the responsibilities of the Vice Chancellor, the Academic Council exercises a number of functions.


Elections are held every three years, except in the case of Early Career Academics and Heads of Department, which are held every two years and Students' Union Members, which are held annually. Two members of Academic Council are elected to be members of the Court of Governors for a three year period.


Download Academic Council structure chart

University Calendar

The University Calendar 2017-18 lists Academic Council and Central Committees meetings by month.

Attention is drawn to the fact that the Students' Union Annual Members' Meeting is likely to be held on the afternoon of Thursday 16 November 2017 at 5.00 pm - it is anticipated that no classes will need to be cancelled on this occasion, although students wishing to attend such meetings should be given every facility to do so.

On the afternoon of Thursday 16 November 2017 at 5.00 pm, when the Students' Union Annual Members' Meeting is held, no other formal University meetings should take place.