Learning and teaching

National Teaching Fellowship (NTF) & Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence

NTF and CATE are prestigious awards which celebrate staff who can demonstrate that they have made an excellent contribution to teaching quality.

The scheme, which launched in 2000, celebrates and recognises individuals who have made an outstanding impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession in higher education. A sister project, the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE), recognises and rewards collaborative work that has had a demonstrable impact on teaching and learning. Introduced in 2016, the scheme highlights the key role of teamwork in higher education.

Find more information about National Teaching Fellowship here.

Find more information about Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence here.

Award holders at Greenwich

  • Louise Hewitt (School of Law & Criminology, FLAS) (2021)
  • Jenny Field (School of Education, FEHHS) (2016)
  • David Evans (School of Health Sciences, FEHHS) (2014)
  • Mike Sharp (School of Engineering, FES) (2009)
  • Tony Mann (School of Computing & Mathematical Sciences, FES) (2008)

Click here to see the full list of National Teaching Fellows

Supported scheme at Greenwich

Those wishing to submit an application for NTF or CATE are first invited to submit a proposal to the Academic and Learning enhancement Team. The link to the online proposal form can be found below in the "How to Apply" section. All proposals are reviewed and short-listed by an internal panel of award holders and trained reviewers. Those with successful proposals are provided a support with completing their application through a network of award holders and trained reviewers able to answer questions and provide feedback on drafts.

If you would like further information about this process please contact the Academic and Learning Enhancement Team: ils-ale@gre.ac.uk

How to apply

The proposal deadline for 2022/23 academic year has now closed.

Applications for next year (2023/24) will open in autumn term.