Congratulations on securing your place at the University of Greenwich. On behalf of all the staff in the Faculty of Engineering and Science, it is my pleasure to welcome you to the university and the next chapter in your life.

For the attention of ALL Faculty of Engineering & Science January 2021 starters:

Please follow this link to the faculty’s Welcome Week Moodle course.  There you will find links to a range of useful recordings designed to help you settle into the university.

Course: Faculty of Engineering & Science Welcome Week 2020-21 (gre.ac.uk)

Getting ready

Soon you will commence your academic journey with us through a combination of online and on-campus learning, and it will be our privilege to help you to acquire the knowledge and skills that will prepare you for your future career.  To assist you on that journey, our Study Skills Team has created a “Preparing to Learn” programme online (https://www.gre.ac.uk/academicskills/skills-for-uni).

Your learning will blend online lectures with on-campus seminars and practical lab work.

Online recorded learning sessions by our Study Skills team will help you understand how to access University systems, including your virtual learning environment, university email and library.

Once you complete registration, you can log in to the Portal to access:

  • Your course timetables
  • Your learning environment, Moodle
  • Your university email account.

Online Welcome Week

The Faculty of Engineering and Science has created an online “Welcome Week” on Moodle (your virtual learning environment) where you will learn what it means to be a student with us, gain important information about your studies and meet the staff you will be working with.  It is very important that you complete your registration, which will enable you to self-enrol on the Moodle course and attend all the sessions planned for you as they are intended to make your transition to the university as smooth, effective and enjoyable as possible.

However, your time with us is not just about your academic studies, it is also a chance to make new friends, gain new experiences and to have fun.  We strongly encourage you to engage with the Greenwich and Kent students’ union (GKSU) website where you sign up for anything from football to volleyball, gaming to photography, find out about the chances to ‘Give it a go’ and ‘What’s on’ during the term from Jan 2021. You are welcome to join the virtual welcome back fair on Jan 27th. https://gksu.co.uk/whats-on/id/275-virtual-welcome-back-fair-21 If you have any questions, concerns or worries, please feel free to contact your Programme Leader.

With very best wishes for your time at Greenwich.

Professor Martin Snowden

Pro Vice Chancellor

Faculty of Engineering and Science


Your Campus

Your on-campus activity will take place at Medway Campus.

Who's who / Key contacts

As we head towards the start of term, if you have any worries or concerns please contact us. Here are some of the key people in the Faculty.

Pro-Vice Chancellor

Professor Martin Snowden, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Faculty of Engineering and Science

Professor Martin Snowden

Congratulations on securing your place at the University of Greenwich.

On behalf of all the staff in the Faculty of Engineering and Science, it is my pleasure to welcome you to the university and the next chapter in your life.

Soon you will commence your academic journey with us, and it will be our privilege to help you to acquire the knowledge and skills that will prepare you for your future career.

To assist you on that journey, we have created a "Preparing to Learn" programme and an intensive Welcome Week. You will learn what it means to be a student with us, gain important information about your studies and meet the staff you will be working with.

It is very important that you attend all the sessions planned for you as they are intended to make your transition to the university as smooth, effective and enjoyable as possible so that you are fully ready to embark on your studies.

Your time with us is not just about your academic studies. It is also a chance to make new friends, gain new experiences and to have fun.

We strongly encourage you to engage with the Greenwich and Kent Students' Union (GKSU) where you can sign up for anything from football to volleyball, gaming to photography. Find out about the chances to 'Give it a go' and 'What's on' during the first term.

If you have any questions, concerns or worries, please feel free to contact your Programme Leader.

With very best wishes for your time at Greenwich.

Heads of School

  • Professor Phil Cox, Head of the School of Engineering
  • Professor Adrian Dobbs, Head of the School of Science
  • Professor Andrew Westby, Head of the Natural Resources Institute
  • Professor Susan Barker, Head of the Medway School of Pharmacy

Programme Leaders

School of Science

NameProgramme

Linda Brownlow

l.brownlow@gre.ac.uk

Forensic Science

Abigail Rickard

a.c.rickard@gre.ac.uk

Biology

Laura Pellatt

l.pellatt@gre.ac.uk

Biomedical Science

Yiayun Pang

j.pang@gre.ac.uk

Chemistry

Birthe Nielsen

b.v.nielsen@gre.ac.uk

Pharmaceutical Science

Milan Antonijevic

m.antonijevic@gre.ac.uk

MSc Pharmaceutical Science

Bruce Alexander

b.alexander@gre.ac.uk

MSc Formulation Science

Mohamed (Aziz) Rahman

m.a.rahman@gre.ac.uk

MSc Biotechnology

School of Engineering

NameProgramme

Robert Jenner

r.p.jenner@gre.ac.uk

Foundation Year Programmes

Zoubir Benterkia

z.benterkia@gre.ac.uk

Civil Engineering (UG)

Mark Bingley

m.s.bingley@gre.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering (UG)

Zahra Sangelaji

z.sangelaji@gre.ac.uk

Electrical & Electronic Engineering (UG)

Jan Krabicka

j.krabicka@gre.ac.uk

Computer Engineering & Cybernetics (UG)

Pablo Garcia Trinanes

p.garciatrinanes@gre.ac.uk

Chemical Engineering (UG)

Ismael Essop

i.a.essop@gre.ac.uk

Digital & Technology Solutions (UG)

Hafid Belaidi

h.belaidi@gre.ac.uk

Lille Programme

Marianna Ercolino

m.ercolino@gre.ac.uk

Civil Engineering (PG)

Yehdego Habtay

y.h.habtay@gre.ac.uk

Electrical Power Engineering (PG)

Georgios Kiourktsoglou

georgios.kiourktsoglou@gre.ac.uk

Global Shipping Management (PG)

Cecilia MacLeod

c.macleod@gre.ac.uk

Water, Waste & Environmenal Engineering (PG)

Grahame Baker

g.baker@gre.ac.uk

Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering (PG)

Aliyah Essop

a.b.essop@gre.ac.uk

Engineering Management (PG)

Natural Resources Institute

NameProgramme

Peter Burt

p.j.a.burt@gre.ac.uk

Geography and Environmental Science (UG)

Conor Walsh

c.walsh@gre.ac.uk

MSc Global Environmental Change

Richard Fuchs

r.s.fuchs@gre.ac.uk

MSc Applied Food Safety & Quality Management

Linda Nicolaides

l.nicolaides@gre.ac.uk

MSc Food Safety & Quality Management (online)

Jonne Rodenburg

j.rodenburg@gre.ac.uk

MSc Agriculture for Sustainable Developmen

Medway School of Pharmacy

ContactProgramme

pharmacyadmissions@kent.ac.uk

MPharm / with Foundation Year