Find out more about automated decision making and safeguarding measures in place.

Description of automated decision making

Department where this takes place

Safeguarding measures in place

Staff applicants use the e-recruitment system - where this is for an academic job requiring a PhD if they do not achieve this criterion then they will be automatically rejected. Human Resources A request for human intervention can be made to HR.
Student attendance monitoring - where there is unacceptable attendance then a letter is sent automatically notifying the student that if they do not contact the University they will be withdrawn. Student & Academic Services Student has the option to contact the University and explain non-attendance. Final withdrawal would be manual.
Student applicants who do not complete the full registration process, or who are already Interrupted - will be withdrawn. Student & Academic Services While the processing of some of these withdrawals is automated in the sense that a code is changed on the student record system database to indicate withdrawn, the processing is only completed after the student has been warned, and has been given an opportunity to tell the University that they intend to return/register.
Interventions for learning analytics - for example student non-attendance or non-participation. Faculties Any intervention is for the student's positive outcome, therefore it is advantageous to them. It is also human intervention.

Office Delve, which is used within Office 365, shows each user a mix of content from across Office 365 which may be of relevance to them.

Office 365, through Office Graph, continuously collects and analyses signals that a user or their colleagues send when working in the Office 365 environment, such as modifying or viewing documents, through email communication or document sharing.

Delve uses the result of Office Graph analysis to show documents which are most likely to be of relevance to each user.
Across the University by staff or students using Office 365Users only see documents they have access to. They can see their private documents and other documents that have been shared with them.